Jet Airways, You Rock!

  • We as consumers waste no time in complaining when we face customer service issues. It is equally important to appreciate when we receive outstanding service standards.
  • I am a loyal Jet Airways passenger and have been accorded a Platinum JetPrivilege membership based on my rich association. However, it is only now that I realise the importance of this loyalty program of Jet Airways.
  • I was booked on the 9:15 pm flight (later rescheduled to 9:50 pm) from Bengaluru to Mangalore. I am quite disciplined in keeping time and have therefore never ever missed a flight. In keeping with my habit, I left for the airport at 6 pm, a good 3 hours and 50 minutes ahead of the departure time. This, I thought, would give me neat one hour at the airport lounge to clear my mails and have dinner.
  • However, that was not to be. Within 5 minutes of leaving for the airport, it started drizzling. Immediately thereafter, traffic snarls started. After about 45 minutes (at 6:45 pm), I checked with the taxi driver if we would make it to the airport on time. He said we should be at the airport by 8 pm. I was relieved.
  • However, the traffic snarls only got worse, and our speed slower and slower, till we came to a complete halt at one point. It was then that I realised that I was in real danger of missing my flight. I tweeted in frustration. 

  • Some Twitter friends wished me luck, pointing out that I had many more crowded areas to cross!

  • Amidst this turmoil, I was getting my Plan B ready. In case I missed my flight, I would check in to a hotel near the airport instead of returning back to the city (in view of the traffic snarls) and take the morning flight to Mangalore. I even called up Jet Airways to confirm the check-in time deadline in case one had already done a web check-in. I was clearly told I had to report 45 minutes prior to departure even if I had already done a web check-in. It meant that I had to report latest by 9:05 pm.
  • By the time we cleared the traffic snarls, it was already 9:15 pm and we had another 15 kms to cover. I almost lost hope. I still decided to give it a shot just in case there was a last minute flight delay from Jet Airways itself.
  • I reported at the check-in counter at 9:35 pm; barely 15 minutes before departure! The girl at the check-in counter first said it was too late. Then she realised I had already done my web check-in. Then she noticed that I was a Platinum JetPrivilege customer. She stood up and called her boss, informing about me and that she was checking me in as a special case. Since it was too late for checking in my luggage, she also took permission to allow me take the same as hand baggage. On getting the superior’s go-ahead, she asked a support staff to accompany me through the security using the gate meant for airport staff. 
  • On seeing that the support staff was taking me past a gate meant for staff, a CISF (security) official blasted him and threatened him, demanding he call his superior. The poor chap got terribly frightened. He had put his job on the line to ensure that I caught my flight. I noticed his plight and pleaded with the security official to pardon him and allow me to pass. He cooled down and let me in.
  • Having cleared the security, I ran towards the gate, only to be told that the last bus to the aircraft had already left. I again requested the gate staff. They relented and took me to the aircraft. 
  • I boarded the aircraft at 9:48 pm, barely 2 minutes before departure. Being the last one to board, all passengers turned back to see who the late entrant was!
  • However, I was tremendously relieved to have made it. The lady at the check-in counter, the support staff who carried my luggage through the security and faced the ire of the security official, the man at the gate who took me in a dedicated bus to the aircraft; all were unsung heroes in my eyes. I didn’t know their names but was full of gratitude for their having gone out of the way to help me catch my flight. Its employees like these that make any organisation a darling of customers!
  • Thanks Jet Airways for the excellent level of service quality! You made my day!!
  • I would be marking this blog post to the Jet Airways Twitter handle, hoping that it would be shared with those unsung heroes and they would read this. I also hope that Jet Airways rewards them for the exemplary commitment they showed towards customer delight. These employees are definitely an asset to Jet Airways.
About Aman Sharma

Management Professional.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes, Business, Travel, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

